Home > Short Stories > shoes under the bed

shoes under the bed


Early mornings are the most serene and apparent time of the day. Since my childhood, I had been taught by my father that the early riser always gains in life. What a beautiful morning offers you is the prospect of being in rendezvous with your thoughts to shape your certain future moments. You see clearly, you are full of energy and you can anticipate much better.

As I slowly walked out of my room, I turned back and gave it, perhaps, one long last look. I remember how she used to remind me every second day that the shoes are not meant to be hidden under the bed, the towel shouldn’t be left on the chair and that it is good for health to let some sunlight in. how often she used to complain that the room always seemed too cluttered. She would change the setting almost every week! The double bed had been to all corners. The dressing table was almost in the balcony for a month. Even my whole wardrobe was shifted to the other room.

But my shoes were still to be found under the bed.

…and she kept complaining how cluttered the room used to look.

Inspite of me being the one with the habit of morning walks, she would always lead me out of the bed. The beautiful she went to sleep every night, the more gorgeous she used to be the next morning. When I asked her once why she would never join me with the morning walks, she replied that the better I take care of myself, the more beautiful she would become!

Becoming proud parents was the true rebirth for both of us. Parenthood brought us joy, confidence, memories, togetherness and patience. It was tiring yet splendid. Watching him grow every day was living your life in a full circle.

Years passed. I grew old. You were still beautiful.

And one day, you just left.

I don’t keep my shoes under the bed anymore. I put then nicely on the rack, always. I always make sure that the wet towel is put to dry. I keep the windows open to let the sunshine in.

I miss you.

Our son has grown to be a successful gentleman. He became the doctor you always wished him to be. He even got married to one. They both look wonderful together. He is humble, smart and honest.

They are moving abroad as they got call from a reputed hospital last month. He came to me last week and told that once everything gets in place there and he has a house of his own, he would call me, might take couple of years, though.

Then he suggested…and I agreed.

This morning, I took my walking stick and a light bag with me. Both of them are still sleeping. They had a busy night yesterday with some close friends, must have been tired. I could just pack few clothes and some photographs. As I slowly, with a heavy heart, walk down the stairs and come outside, I see the van standing.

One of the two men came smiling towards me and took my bag.

“You are an early riser, sir. Anybody coming to see you off?

“No. Nobody is at home,” I replied with a smile as a sat on the back seat.

The van slowly started to move towards the Happy Old Age Homes.

  1. May 1, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Gripping, fascinating and just the right length! Keeps you with bated breath till the end and then shocks you! Well-written…

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      your comment was far more well written than that piece !
      (pardon me, m jst frustrated thas y writing too often…)
      Thanx a ton..

      • May 2, 2012 at 8:57 am

        You underestimate your own writing skills! Oh by the way I’m sure all your readers want you to write more!

  2. May 2, 2012 at 9:44 am

    thanks veerji @Himanshu K. for the star !!!

  3. May 3, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    ohhh..so you are too into fiction..well it was great reading your stuff and sorry for droppin in so late… i could feel the freshness of morning and feel you get when u get up early..though not possible for a lazy person like me..it’s really good…

    • May 3, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      i think for us its a matter of being in the grid. The thoughts are humble – it feels good writing. But sometimes its….weird !!!
      Thanx…

  4. May 6, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Good twist at the end

  5. May 12, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Your blog makes me want to come and find you and give you a hug! I don’t think I’d worry about the shoes – not even a little bit. Her loss!!

  6. May 25, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    that is what i call a touching post!!
    *bows*

    • May 25, 2012 at 11:58 pm

      2 x *bows* back for the love !

  7. Asifa Zunaidha
    May 27, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    This is really beautiful 🙂 i can see flashes of scenes from movies like Up, baaghban, chalte chalte… but your perspective is very touching…

    • May 27, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      Thanks a lot Asifa ! I’m glad to see you dropping by and ushering these beautiful comments !! The opening sequence of “UP” would be the closest to defining this one – I was overwhelmed by that !!!
      Following you with eagerness !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

