Home > Short Stories > The Pain

The Pain


“This way, Shriya.”

The low tenor voice of Dr. Seth made me look away from her for the first time since I entered her room. The palpitations were making my body shiver in short bursts. There was this terrible heaviness I was feeling in my lungs and felt as if it would clobber me do a state where even the air would hurt. I don’t know whether I cried or not but I felt as if the thirst had gone into my eyes.

I was holding her hand so close to me. She felt cold. But the warmth in her touch was as apparent and ardent as ever. My fingers were tremulous. Yet, she seemed to be so in control of her emotions.

“Please don’t do this to us,” I said to myself. “I am not as strong as you, I have never been. Please get up and tell me that you would be my strength like you always had been.”

I tried to be as loud I could in my silence. But she was not coming back.

I rose slowly from her side, still holding her hand. I carefully placed it on the bed as if not to awake her from her deep sleep. They had taken out the cannula from her wrist leaving the tapes there. Two soft pillows were placed below her head. I gently removed both the pillows and placed them on the small side table where I noticed there were no medicines. She never used to take pillows. She would tell me that how her neck would be stiff in the morning whenever she used one. I did not want her to be uncomfortable when she gets up.

(…not to be continued)

  1. May 8, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    beautiful…. That is all I can say…:)

  2. May 26, 2012 at 12:04 am

    not a word.
    speechless.

    • May 26, 2012 at 12:06 am

      accepted…with all of your grace !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

