Home > Short Stories > Just A Drop Of A Dream

Just A Drop Of A Dream


 

As his introduction was being given by the lady with an unprecedented yet calm hysteria, he noticed that it was the same like it had been in Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, and Kolkata and in all the cities he had been to. They were continuously borrowing from each other and the genuineness of the gratitude sounded more artificial.

Exactly before his last name was announced, he walked in from behind the large cutout of his own while unbuttoning his suit and waving to the crowd. An outsized whitish light kept following him, which he always hated. As he gave an uncomfortable look at his cutout, he read those words written over his plastic-foam-filled head – “Get Up – To Chase Your Dreams”.

He positioned himself to the center of the stage. He did not want to do it. He gave a heartening look towards the room filled with jubilant people of all ages who, in a synchronized manner, suddenly seized to clap and waited for his words.

Perhaps this was the last time. And he spoke.

“Hello Everyone! I’m so glad that you’ve joined me in this wonderful moment where we get the opportunity to look deep into the eyes of our dreams and tell them – you are mine.”

Everyone applauded. He sunk more.

“I never thought I would be doing this – talking to you all with the deepest of desires to achieve something in life. What surprises me is that you have the power to see the dreams but when it comes to realize the power within to chase them, you want some atrocious freak like me, who just only manages to speak well, to stand here in front of you and tell you who you are. Who am I to tell you how special you are? Have I been the one who has decoded every aspect of every single dream he ever saw?”

The crowd was stunned. He was reaching for his heart.

“The answer is, no. I am a man who carries his broken dreams everyday on his shoulders so that he is reminded of how much harder he has to work. I am a man who sleeps on the broken pieces of his dreams so that the blood coming out of my wounds is fresh and reminds me of what I could have been. I am someone who has lost so much self respect and achieved so many failures, that I chose not to chase any of my dreams. The easiest way I figured out was to talk about yours.”

They thought it was a built up. He knew this was it.

“You have a beautiful life. If you could sense your own aura the way I sense yours, you would know the overwhelming strength that lies in you. Don’t term your life as a journey to figure out the real you. Be the YOU who you want to be. The single drop of passion you would feel is enough to take you closer to anything you ever wished for. Stop telling yourself that you need help. You don’t need someone superficial like me who gets paid for ushering you towards your own dreams. The real dream is to be there for yourself when you need someone.”

They were confused. He left the stage.

It has been over a year. He has not been seen or heard of since then. He still writes from an unknown location.  

  1. July 1, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    And that is what i can do best!!
    😀

    • July 1, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      🙂 I don’t know why I wrote this story…but so many blogs begin with the reason of the person being in pain, confusion or in a state of dejection !
      Dreams are so powerful. They not only just transform..but they let us re-live.

      • July 1, 2012 at 11:53 pm

        And sometimes, we live an entire life based on those dreams. However distant or far-fetched they may be!
        🙂

  2. July 2, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Lovely writing .. I loved the speech and the way you portrayed the entire drama.. yes it is so true that nobody can’t help anyone to achieve their dreams, everyone has to do it by themselves.. and about people being confused, angry or in the state of dejection, maybe its their way out of all this.. what I believe is “Everyone has to struggle for their part” and struggle gets you the learning and learning – the success… What else? Did I cover everything? 🙂

    • July 2, 2012 at 7:47 am

      yes you did !!! Thanks bhai !

  3. sheevi
    July 2, 2012 at 1:49 am

    nice lesson..no more inspirational articles from now on!!

    • July 2, 2012 at 7:47 am

      it was just a post…nothing more than that !

      • sheevi
        July 2, 2012 at 8:06 am

        a lesson yet again..we don’t always have to mean what we read or write.. 🙂
        cheers.!

      • July 2, 2012 at 8:40 am

        🙂

  4. July 2, 2012 at 2:12 am

    i LOVED EVERY BIT OF IT! You re-framed the meaning and strength of dreams! This was like a RE-AWAKENING POST!! Very well done Prashant 🙂
    With best wishes to follow your own dreams,
    -Naima.

    • July 2, 2012 at 7:48 am

      glad you liked it Naima…thanks

      • July 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm

        You’re always welcome 🙂
        -Naima.

  5. July 2, 2012 at 5:04 am

    Very wonderful. On one hand he is a man who spoke the truth. It reminded me of the times I go to others to learn about me when all I need is to just look inside… Yet on the other side he did not see the truth in himself he only saw the broken dreams.

    • July 2, 2012 at 7:50 am

      life is like that – hidden yet open !

  6. July 2, 2012 at 11:22 am

    “Stop telling yourself that you need help. You don’t need someone superficial like me who gets paid for ushering you towards your own dreams. The real dream is to be there for yourself when you need someone” – true to the core. Really amazing!!

    • July 2, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Amit ! Glad you liked the feel of the words…

  7. July 2, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    genuinely wise words prashant.

    • July 2, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      sometimes you have to give yourself a tight slap … 😉

      • July 5, 2012 at 8:22 pm

        hmm and sometimes a big hug 🙂

      • July 5, 2012 at 8:31 pm

        aapni ekk dom theek bolchi… 🙂

      • July 5, 2012 at 8:38 pm

        theek bolchhen 🙂

  8. July 3, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Sometimes we need somebody else to make us realise what we are,and what we are capable of doing..the other person’s words or existence acts as a catalyst in the process..a catalyst send from God..just for that action or that reaction to take place….
    One of the finest posts written by you!

    • July 3, 2012 at 8:30 am

      ahhh…it had more of me than any post else ! Thank you !

  9. July 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    Liked it Prashant. I remember a phase when I’d desperately look around for inspirational quotes, motivational speeches and self-help books to help me sail through. I was lost, confused, dejected, rejected, hopeless and afraid. It took me some years and a few sessions with a couple of psychological counselors to realize my core problem – I had lost touch with myself. I had not been able to ‘think’ a single thought consciously for months or years – and I had not been able to catch hold of or counter the automatic negative thoughts (ANT) that were wreaking havoc in my mind. The therapists taught me techniques to get back in touch with my internal world – and then, I regained control. I could face the external world again without self-sabotaging internal crisis and deal well with external issues. Points are:

    1. Self-help may be the best help, and self-sufficiency may be one of the best goals to try to achieve, but we better be ready to reach out for help whenever we need it. Timely help by the right person can make a lot of difference.

    2. Internal awareness is a treasure of a quality. Have a good connection with your core self – and external motivation would matter less.

    Anyway, I don’t think this story was written to preach the glory of self-help :-). Really appreciate the piece. The expertise and brevity with which you’ve sketched the character is commendable.

    • July 4, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      Frankly speaking – I’m so overwhelmed with your words that I got totally confused how to react only !

      The things you spoke of self realization and self help need not be only for someone who feels problematic but a normal person can also wants to live a simple life.

      Honored !

      • July 5, 2012 at 12:33 pm

        Ha ha :-). Genuine, original and well-felt pieces of creation do deserve appreciation. Awaiting many more wonderful blog posts from you…

      • July 5, 2012 at 12:35 pm

        I’ve got a few on my blog – would just love to see you analyzing them with your expertise too !

        Still speechless !

  10. July 8, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    Hey! I’m back! 🙂
    Loved the story…:) This is so true! We don’t need others to drive us towards our dreams… But such is the state today that the smallest of things have to be vetted by someone else before we can gain confidence of its being! So be it with dreams..

    Reading this reminded me of the story I’d written – ‘Dream on!’.

    • July 9, 2012 at 3:39 pm

      like minds think alike I would say !
      Thanks Adi !

  11. July 17, 2012 at 3:54 am

    Wow!!! That actually is true for some people I know 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

