Home > Poems > The Unborn Girl Child

The Unborn Girl Child


 

Female Foeticide is a shameful act which defies any logic of us being God’s own.

India’s 2011 census shows a serious decline in the number of girls under the age of seven – activists fear eight million female foetuses may have been aborted in the past decade.

We have to face our sins nowhere else but in this life only. 

 

============================================================================================

 

I remember the hymn of your heartbeat

as a lullaby your soul sang to me.

Inside the will of nourishing life,

out of love, I was made to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have seen the colors vibrant everywhere

in your reflections as you danced.

In a magical world I was cherished

and I smiled at your serene glance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I knew the sound of the rain

as it chanted on our roof.

I saw people smiling back at me.

Completeness never asked for a proof.

 

Why this dream of mine was halted

when my destiny was still not sketched.

How could you decide not to have me?

It was your own blood that I bled.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t blame you for letting me go.

I did see your tears on those gruesome nights.

But I know you would just be through me soon.

As you would never know how I looked like.  

 

  1. Archana
    July 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Wonderful …. thanks for writing this 🙂

    • July 16, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      You are welcome Archana…may be we all can work for this cause together.

      • Archana
        July 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

        yes , dowry is such a curse in india …. guys should stop taking dowry as well 🙂

      • July 16, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        …and that too in disguise of traditions, culture and social needs.

      • Archana
        July 16, 2012 at 1:31 pm

        yup .. !! even girls are nothing less ., cos i know , girls who fight with parents to get more dowry … , nothing personal!! we need to make some virus which eradicates al such bad sense from people ‘s mind here.. 😀 … and i wish some guy will come who will return back dowry what my parents give to me .. just a wish to make a move from my part !! (since dowry is a mandatory in my place ) i hate that !!!

      • July 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm

        🙂

  2. July 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Killing them in the womb is far better than bringing them into a world where they would be humiliated at every stage in life. When our sons cant respect the women, lets not bring daughters into the world and make it a filthier place.
    Read this, btw:

    http://goingbeyondthepages.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/female-foeticide-is-good/

    • July 16, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      …then tell me…by killing 8million in over a decade – has it made your world a better place to live in?

      ….I beg to differ lady. Our society doesn’t shape our kid’s – it’s the upbringing we give them inside the four walls of our home.

      You stated about “sons not respecting” the women…and you would also agree here that a woman is a woman’s worst enemy.

      It’s nothing to balance the blame – but a sin is a sin.

      • July 16, 2012 at 2:09 pm

        I meant it sarcastically Prashant. Not literally!
        Sure the world hasnt become any better with all the young ones dying in their mother’s wombs. Its only gotten worse i agree.

        I meant that even after bearing them, its not like all of us protect em and nourish em as we do for our sons. Most of them. The gender divide never goes, for most of us.
        If he does something filthy, he is a man and has his ‘needs’. The woman on the receiving end is tagged the slut!
        Thats how the society at large operates!!

      • July 16, 2012 at 2:33 pm

        As parents of two daughters – me and Suhani have got our own share of remarks from our family members…not rally harsh ones..but to keep trying for the next one! We know what is the periphery of our lives and we know how much dedication we can give without being exhausted. So we decided to be the best parents for the two rather than being good parents for three or four.

        The way society behaves is not entirely related to this issue. No need for us to dwell upon them here ‘cas we all know what are those.

        For rest, you can check my comment on the post you mentioned.

        No hard feelings.

  3. July 16, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    I agree with you.. Sin is a Sin.. No one is allowed to balance it .. There is just not Dowry resulting in 8 million murders, there are so many other factors as well and everyone is involved.. How can we just kill the most beautiful thing before it takes birth? .. and the last two lines are so real.. people tend to overcome easily just because they have not seen the faces? How disgusting!!! Don’t we believe in and respect several other unseen things??

    • July 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      the thing is that you are never the owner of the life you create…you are just the medium…do your best to satisfy the logic behind your existence or just shut the fuck up…get castrated instead..

  4. July 16, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    wonderfully expressed the sensitive heinous crime and sin…the lines just cam from within…very touching

    • July 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Thank you Soumya…when you are raising two beautiful daughters with pride and elation – you do get sentimental about issues like these.

  5. July 17, 2012 at 3:36 am

    I greatly appreciate the comments you posted here more than the beautiful heart wrenching poem, Mr.B. It takes guts for guys to say no to dowry, for fear of being deemed as a shady or loony character… But sin is a sin. All these foeticides are making the society more dangerous for girls and women who are still alive at all ages right from infancy.

    In Tamilnadu, the Govt introduced Thottil Kulandhai scheme in 1992 ~ Cradle child scheme : Under this scheme, cradles are placed at locations like Hospitals, Primary Health Centres, Orphanages and Children Homes which are likely to receive female children which are abandoned by their parents due to social circumstances. It was started to target female infanticide, but male babies are adopted too by the Govt and given off to families that are willing to adopt within India and abroad…Many such girls have become successful young women today…

    We, as society could do more, create awareness, encourage such Govt schemes in important forums throughout India…It’s not just the parents, but all are responsible for the society we live in…

    A similar post by my friend-http://drsuraiyanasim.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/abandoned/

    • July 17, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Thank you Asifa for such a bright comment full of hope out of the hard work being done in our society..atleast we have initiated a change…the only thing is that we need to involve fully into it rather than being just spectators or critics..

      …and yes, the power of this post are the comments !!!

  6. July 17, 2012 at 3:42 am

    In the 2011 census, TN had 995 women per 1000 men.. But the child sex-ratio is woefully low at 946 from 959 of previous decade. With the change of Govt, the old Cradle scheme has been extended with new rigour in areas of low child sex ratio and hopefully it will turn into a bright living example for the rest of India…

  7. July 17, 2012 at 8:29 am

    The first two lines were just precious. And somehow, despite the many texts written about the subject matter floating around, many of them skidding into close-minded judgement and holier-than-thou sanctimonious generalizations that doesn’t really help the cause, it’s pieces like these, focused on the life and playing on the possibility of identity of the victim, that makes you wanna step back and at least THINK. This world is full of closed-minded people you can’t have a decent discussion with. But when we’re truly open for debate, we open ourselves to a resolution that is less painful to all involved.

    • July 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Hey Iris…so nice you drooped by again !
      I was writing a lot about love, life, faith etc…they are genuine expressions for sure…but I don’t know how but yesterday I felt that am I doing enough to make people think enough? I really doubted that.
      So I decided that I would be writing regularly about these sensitive issues which are the black hole of our society…and lets have a discussion about it.
      This post has been so good to me in return as I have been able to get the honest views of so many blogger friends !

  8. Pawan Hira
    July 17, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    It saddens me to see those stats about female foeticide. Years ago, my sister was forced for an abortion. My mother had tears, she said to her, “I will raise her, as I have raised all my 5 children.”
    Heinous act it is, born of society. You penned the intricate emotions.

    • July 17, 2012 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you Pawan…you had been missed for sure…

  9. August 15, 2012 at 1:05 am

    This is such a touching poem Prashant!
    I wrote a similar poem “The girl child” and posted the 1st pic you have posted.
    This poem is just too beautiful for words.
    I think it’s better expressed than i could ever try. I do feel very strongly on this topic. Glad to find another blogger writing about it. Kudos to you!

    • August 15, 2012 at 9:37 am

      I think you interpreted it better than I could mean. Thanks !

      This surely is one of the worst and demeaning scars on the face of our society.

      • August 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

        I agree. 😦 We must all stand united and strong to fight against it. It’s wonderful to know you have two daughters. I wish people could realise what a treasure of blessings a daughter is. I wish your daughters much love and success!
        Keep up the great work!

      • August 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm

        Thanks Doc !

  10. Anonymous
    November 25, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    FAB POEM

  11. July 23, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    Another perspective:

    This is stunning.
    ——But also deeply painful for those who’ve
    —————lost little ones prematurely.

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/bereft-poetry-reborn/

    *No hard feelings*

    • July 27, 2013 at 11:36 am

      I wish I could express half as sincerely as you !

      wonderful emotions with a poetry in motion in your piece of art.

      • July 28, 2013 at 3:36 am

        Ohoah, I would never think such a thing in your shoes. Gee, thanks. You have to know: you look just like my half-cousin did at your age. I wasn’t close to him but he’s a nice guy, and I feel like I’m talking to him each time your gravatar pops up. LOL!

      • July 30, 2013 at 9:27 am

        That makes us a family then !!

      • July 30, 2013 at 9:33 am

        LOL

        You’re a carbon copy.
        Long hair, esp.

      • July 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm

        🙂

  12. Anonymous
    August 6, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    GOODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

    • August 6, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      Well…thank you anonymous !

  13. August 24, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Prashant, you are gem of a writer! It’s heart touching!

    • August 28, 2013 at 9:21 am

      Rawat Sir ! A writer is worthless if his words are not understood. So, its the labour of the reader that golden !
      Thanks for the support !

  1. July 16, 2012 at 3:50 pm

leave your precious words here

