Home > Poems > The “Specially Abled”

The “Specially Abled”


 

Disability is a complex phenomenon, reflecting an interaction between features of a person’s body and features of the society in which he or she lives.

—World Health Organization

For me, the real disability lies in the approach, attitude and perception of an individual which determine the sincerity and genuineness of his existence.

The following post is a salute to the REAL warriors between us.

===========================================================================================

I have been crafted out of desires unfulfilled

in God’s own recreation of the human set.

The caricature of unblemished courage

in my will to succeed, you would get.

You would walk past me, certainly noticing

the untarnished spirit of my unassuming delight.

I smile at my destiny with an open heart

and keep the odds close to my sight.

The lost limbs or the broken senses

don’t count for me, I stride onwards, still.

I have known perfect men of Gods

become amputees of their own broken will.

No matter how hard the times would come

I would always push back the dread in me.

I am the one with qualities so “special”.

On the dais of noble miracles, standing I would be.

  1. July 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Good one bro!

  2. July 17, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    *salutes* for this one.
    You’ve potrayed delicate emotions, very sensitively sir.
    🙂

  3. July 17, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    beautifully portrayed the fighting spirit and courage of the ones,from whom we need to learn

    • July 18, 2012 at 8:31 am

      surely, there is always so much to learn from the humblest ..

  4. July 18, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Kudos Prashant =) It needed to be written. =)

    As a small token of appreciation I would like to nominate you for the “Beautiful Blogger Award”. Please find details here: http://intotheindigo.wordpress.com/beautiful-blogger-award/.

    • July 18, 2012 at 8:32 am

      Thank you Querida for the appreciation…more than to be written, it needed to be felt !

      Thank you so very much for the beautiful award !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

