Home > Poems > Flawed Patience – Gagged Prayers

Flawed Patience – Gagged Prayers


 

There are an estimated 100 million people worldwide who live homeless.

The reasons behind homelessness could be poverty, unemployment, war, disability, substance abuse, domestic violence or mental health to name a few.

These homeless people suffer from violence, abuse, reduced access to healthcare and discrimination.

They may not sound anything of our concern.

The truth is – they are human beings and the causes for their condition are something which would slowly cripple our society and progress.

Perhaps, knowing would initiate the change.

 

==================================================================

 

 

Wearing shadows of broken hope and despair.

I am not a walking ghost you see on the road.

Begging for my diminutive worth before it all ends.

Watching feebly as heed and concern corrode.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Injuries sustained, felt to the core of morals.

Flawed patience determining the silent outburst.

There seems to be no God looking upon us.

Prayers are gagged between hunger and thirst.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sparkling evil in deeds and needs of people around.

This crowd of immaculate dreamers fails to see.

I have my tribulations penetrating my soul so bad.

One loaf of bread squeezes the sensibility out of me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These things of amputating power – eating the heart.

Prejudice in confessing the truth of own image.

I am the reality that speaks in-between your success.

Just save this gifted world from the inevitable carnage.

 

 

 

 

  1. July 31, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    It’s all a vicious circle i think. Poverty, illiteracy, homeless-ness.
    Disturbing it maybe, but it is the reality.
    *sigh*

    • July 31, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      It has a beginning…but the end seems too far…or our corrupted vision stops us from realizing anything.

  2. August 1, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    amazing poem Prashant. very heart breaking truth.

    • August 1, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      I think one day we would be too tired of truths which are heartbreaking….only if we haven’t reached that stage already.

      Thank you Sharmishtha

      • August 1, 2012 at 5:29 pm

        yes. we are overstuffed with problems of others, so, we should make a motto to do anything we can and no matter what- never allow our hearts to become indifferent towards the pain of others.

      • August 1, 2012 at 5:35 pm

        You and I know that blogging, tweeting or posting on FB won’t do anything for the cause..but due to our almost “extinct” concern , at least we take time to honor the cause and the problems…let it be only for 30 secs.

  3. August 2, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Sorry for the delay, but kindly accept my appreciation
    With love, thanks for being around
    http://divinerhythm.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/taste-of-love/

    • August 2, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Thank you Mira Jay !!

      (whenever I take your name – I feel like Peter Parker a.k.a Spiderman !!!! 🙂

      Have a gr8 day !

      • August 2, 2012 at 10:34 pm

        You’re most welcome..
        &I didn’t get the meant….

  4. Blood-Ink-Diary
    August 3, 2012 at 7:51 am

    Piercing and deeply heartfelt post, Prashant. You articulate quite remarkably (but you know this!). Cheers.

    • August 10, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Thank you so much…shukriya !

  5. August 3, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Definitely a most difficult/sad/tragic topic, well written my friend 🙂

    • August 3, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Someone has to do the job…at least think of doing it..

  6. August 21, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Thank you for sharing this link, Prashant. I am a fortunate woman that I have the resources to walk away from my house and not end up on the street. But it is shocking to say the least, to come to Brazil as a volunteer and then watch the value of my house, which i had counted on for part of my retirement source, “lose” $200,000 in value in three years. Bear in mind that my taxes did not depreciate nor did my house insurance. Then the bank announced that the house was not worth what I still had as a mortgage…are you getting the picture? I had rented the house when I came to Brazil but the renter deducted a third of the rent I needed to cover the mortgage as she said “times were bad.” That left me paying part of the mortgage so she could live in the house? How crazy is this. My point is that I am not on drugs, not illiterate, not shirking my responsibilities, or any of the other assumptions we could make about a homeless person. But it happened to me….I lost my home…or at least was unwilling to continue to pay the system that is fraught with fraud. Thank you for this write, my friend, homelessness is an outrage anywhere, but it is absurd in the United States.

    On the other hand, I love that you and I so often write about the same things. Thank you for being such a faithful visitor to Source of Inspiration. I enjoy your comments and you put a sparkle in my blog that I treasure. hugs, pat

    • August 22, 2012 at 8:30 am

      Hey Pat…you are a strong woman.
      I can’t say that I feel all that is going inside you but I do understand it. Perhaps the social structure in our side of the world is a bit different so we are not subjected to frequent reality of mortgage and leaving your home for some other place. Sometimes, you are left with too many questions than the answers and the facts are away from the logic. I can’t explain the reasons too ‘cas honestly I have no idea. Still, times are never the same and god will never shy away from giving you all of yours…he just likes to time it.
      Thank you ma’am for your wonderful connection.

      • August 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm

        god will never shy away from giving you all of yours…he just likes to time it.

        Yes, God’s time is not always my time but is always the right time. The house is unimportant but what is important is the greed and corruption that is every where. Once we join together and refuse to accept what is happening and take actions to move to a world of peace, the shift that is happening toward the evolution of mankind will soar. People like you who live in the energy of love are making the difference. And this shift will happen for there is nothing stronger that the pure love energy of Source. Keep writing, my dear friend, for the world needs your voice, your love. hugs, pat

      • August 22, 2012 at 4:31 pm

        Sure would

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

