Home > Poems > Murky Personification Of The Enlightened

Murky Personification Of The Enlightened


The legends of an era, the idols of millions and the dreams spoken with reality – these artists had life and name as good as it gets.

But behind the blazing flashes and buzzing pyrotechnics, high pitched speakers and shady goggles, lived a person who chose to speak and sing to face or avoid his shortcomings – they were just as human as us. 

Tribute to these great ones who still inspire and intrigue us.

Wished they had lived a bit longer to know the difference they could have made.

============================================================================================

Away from the anguish of an uncongenial demise.

My soul lies amongst the ones who knew just enough.

Bleeding fingers on the strings of my fastened starvation.

A truth waiting to be told, veiled in my rhythmic bluff.

Opaque souls being devoured with expectations.

You follow me with the desire to understand the pain.

And I – the murky personification of the enlightened.

Songs of confession nourishing my absurdness in vain.

I feel strongest when you touch me with your bare heart.

Amalgamated stories of you and me in consonance.

My meaning lies in my words, so different from my deeds.

Shamelessly baring my demons in a 30 minute performance.

This life was the beginning of me fighting the Gods.

Defined with madness and hate, my face would be drawn.

Infamous ends would be my treasured pronouncements.

You would know and want my love – when I would be gone.

  1. August 7, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Ah! How i wish they lived longer!!

    Nicely done Prashant. The ‘Gods’ will send you their blessings!
    😀

  2. August 7, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Many of us, I think, will have our own list something like this.

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      ..and between those lists would be many untold stories.
      Thanks Ben.

  3. August 8, 2012 at 10:23 am

    “A truth waiting to be told, veiled in my rhythmic bluff.” So true…as with a lot of good pictures one can almost see in their eyes all that they held inside…that at once made them all great ( I do love them all) and simultaneously was their downfall….

    So powerful and well written! I think you really expressed their “truth”! And did it fantastically!

    • August 8, 2012 at 10:46 am

      Hey Christina

      I find it difficult to assess that perhaps their deaths made them great icons. We are so hooked to controversies and stories of tribulations of others that if someone is simple and with no problems – then they are boring !

      An aura was created around them after they were gone which fuels our curiosity. But what if they were alive? Look what we did to MJ when he was alive – made him a living joke !

      Some introspection to respect the living icons…so that they don’t have to kill themselves to be remembered.

      • August 8, 2012 at 11:11 am

        I agree! It wasn’t their deaths that made them great…and what happened to MJ while he was alive was tragically sad. I meant more that typically great artists are so full of ….I don’t know angst, problems or suffering of some sort that what made them great was ultimately what brought them down or made them take their own life or do so many drugs that had the same effect.

        I don’t think how they ended was what made these guys great…their music for sure…at least for me.

      • August 8, 2012 at 12:10 pm

        No doubt about the music ! Bows !!

  4. August 8, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I’ve nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award http://theworldofalexanderthegreat.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/one-lovely-blog-award/
    Respect, Maarit-Johanna

    • August 8, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      Thank you Maarit-Johanna
      means a lot !!

  5. August 12, 2012 at 12:04 am

    good one Prashant…RIP Tupac Shakur…

    • August 12, 2012 at 12:05 am

      Thanks Raunak ! May God bless them all in peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

