Home > Short Stories > No Love Without My Soul

No Love Without My Soul


 

As the cold winter night approached, the gruesome battle between the two armies came to an end. Battered bodies of hundreds of soldiers lying everywhere. Some still breathing and some long dead.

 

A young soldier – badly wounded and profusely bleeding was searching for something in his torn pockets with his broken hand. He took out a small silver bracelet with two little hearts – one blue and one pink – from his bullet ridden uniform.

 

The bracelet was given to him by his wife whom he had married just three months back before the war broke up. The young soldier kissed the bracelet and remembered her beautiful face. He was sad that perhaps he would never see her again.

 

Just then an angel appeared in front of him. The angel asked the young soldier, “You fought bravely as you had sworn. But you promised someone to come back too. How are you going to keep your promise now?”

 

The young soldier had no answer.

 

“I will give you a new life. You can go back to your wife and have a life you had promised her. But I need to take your soul with me. Your body and life would be spared. Do you want this, O! young soldier.”

 

“What would I do with a life without the only thing that completes my love, “replied the soldier. “I have loved my wife with my soul only.”

 

….and the young soldier closed his eyes…in peace…and still in love.

 

  1. April 20, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Beautiful story!

  2. Anonymous
    April 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Great story Prashant!!

  3. April 20, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Great Story Prashant!!

  4. April 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    wow ..this is well written!

    • April 22, 2013 at 11:43 am

      …and well read then I must say !
      Thank you Ms Mittal !

      Happy Blogging !

  5. vishalbheeroo
    April 23, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    Beautiful and simple yet sensitive story Prashant. It touched my heart and I am amazed how you made such a small story so powerful and speaks so much in few words. The tragedy of war is that it destroy families.
    Cheers
    Vishal
    http://www.vishalbheeroo.wordpress.com

    • April 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm

      Hey Vishal…thank you so much for your generous words !

      Happy Blogging !

  6. April 24, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    With great pleasure I have nominated you for the Blogging Awards
    you can choose any one you like

    please accept and oblige

    Here is a link
    http://writingisthesupremesolace.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/awards/

    • April 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm

      Roger that ma’am…on my way !

  7. June 18, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    I love the title of your blog…”just spoken thoughts”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

