Home > Short Stories > Alive – Angels Happen

Alive – Angels Happen


When you have good things happening in life around you, you don’t really seek for explanations. Everything seems just and adequately comfortable.

I had not known Sandra for long. It was exactly a year ago when we first met. She was just seventeen then and nothing different from an average teenager.

She had plans in life. Plans to travel. Plans to paint a masterpiece. Plans to publish a book of her poems. She had plans to keep her focused towards loving her life as much as she could.

I had a tumor inside my brain for seven years before I found it out when I fainted on the escalator that evening three years ago. Three times, I got it operated but it came back again every time. It was like a destiny waiting to happen. Soon, I started losing my sight and within a year, I was technically blind.

Six months ago, after I got operated for the fifth time, I received a call from Sandra’s father. Something I never expected happened that evening.

Sandra was in the same cancer ward with me. Her blood cancer was detected in the incurable stage. For a seventeen year old, she never seemed begging for any moment of life. She was life.

Before Sandra lost her battle with her destiny, she donated her eyes to me. This was her last wish. This was her last plan.

My tumor never returned after I started seeing the world again with her eyes. She was the explanation for my life. She was the life.

Yes, I have seen angels. They are not the ones who do miracles. They are the ones who teach you to live another day.

(This short story was written to celebrate the lives of those beautiful people who donate their body parts for letting someone live again.
Also, this story is about the courage of the people who fight cancer with all the support of their family members.)   

  1. June 10, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Superb tale teaching the simple lesson of humanity..

  2. June 10, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    Surprise sweeps and twirls me when you dance these stories. Carried away then, never the same again.

  3. June 10, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Btw, I keep trying to bluff my heart. Then, I remember what you say and quite for a beautiful while.

  4. June 28, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    worth reading

    • July 1, 2013 at 1:41 pm

      Thanks Dewang ! Much appreciated !

  5. July 1, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    After a very long time Iam here to present you a bunch of awards. Thought it was already time for the next lot… http://wp.me/p1Zs7k-1xn
    For your posts,I never miss them! 🙂

    • July 9, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      Thank you ma’am for the generous support !

  6. July 10, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    how beautiful…amazing love…a gift that is beyond words…

    • July 10, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      such graceful words of support… thank you !

  7. August 6, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Touching. I would remove the “since.” Of course feel free to ignore the suggestion.
    I had not known Sandra since long.

    If you haven’t seen, I mention you in my latest post.

    • August 6, 2013 at 10:44 pm

      Point taken n humbly implemented !

      thank you for the much awaited guidance ! Let more to come n freely !

      • August 7, 2013 at 4:00 am

        Much awaited? LOL! You make it sound like you were awaiting your turn as the Grammar Mafia made her rounds.

      • August 7, 2013 at 8:47 am

        Ha !
        You can say that !
        I meant that seldom you find readers who assist your love of the language to evolve in the right sense !
        Thank you !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here

