Home > Poems > Aye Aye Soldier

Aye Aye Soldier


 

With bare feet embracing the soul of the earth,

I have walked miles with just a memory of you besides.

I have slept under the twinkling blanket of distant trinkets,

in lonesome search of the homebound tides.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Engulfed in the sustenance of unprecedented courage.

Anonymously, I have sought the chalice of eternal glory.

Credentials of providence walking amongst the mirages,

I have followed the hymn of your breath in times too shadowy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abstinent companions lost, as I ushered my pieces ahead

honouring my oath and the ordained serenity at stake.

The wish to be back with my soul in your arms, one last time,

would bind me complete, how often I may break.

I am a soldier – I resurrect the power of being righteous.

Namelessly, my will would weave the soft strands of your smile.

You may never get to know who I was, in your life, Gabriel.

Just remember that for you – I blissfully walked the last mile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. July 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    I think i have NEVER read a more beautiful poem than this Prashant!
    Gave me goosebumps. Dont know why, though!!
    Hugs!
    🙂

  2. July 10, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    Such a great piece.. very nice!

    • July 10, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      Thank you Neeraj bhai – we just have to keep reminding ourselves of the sacrifice these soldiers make for us…

      • July 11, 2012 at 8:54 pm

        Seriously nothing can ever compensate the depth of sacrifices these Soldiers do for us..

      • July 11, 2012 at 9:23 pm

        🙂 absolutely

  3. July 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    The unsung life of a real hero in words of yours,
    shows the true image of a brave warrior,
    an unknown one he remains from the day he joins till the time he is slayed,
    love for the country and passion of serving keeps him walking even if he is dead,
    a small word or a smiling face ,a touch memorable or a look intense,
    keeps him going in worse times,he lives for the country and dies for it with a name unknown buried in his mind…

    A great poem by you Prashant! sorry I added these lines as a reaction to ur poem.

    • July 10, 2012 at 11:46 pm

      The reaction was the most appropriate one Soumya !
      gr8 lines in continuation…thanks…

  4. sheevi
    July 11, 2012 at 1:20 am

    i m left speechless..too good!!
    awesome piece of composition.. 🙂

    • July 11, 2012 at 3:27 am

      Thank you so very much Sheevi..

  5. Midnighthues
    July 11, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Beautifully written Prashant!
    Each stoke now from your heart weaves a master peace!

    • July 11, 2012 at 10:59 am

      I don’t think comments can go any better that this !!!
      Overwhelmed I am !

  6. July 11, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Words effect people in so many different ways….yours truly touch the soul. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • July 11, 2012 at 11:02 am

      Thank you for appreciating…they never leave you alone – the oath and the duty..

  7. July 17, 2012 at 4:07 am

    It reminded me of my friend whose two brothers are in Indian Army… One of them had been in Kargil 1999, the pain and fear of the separated wife, children and family members is too much to think about it even now as a passive stranger… As a stranger among the billions for whom the soldiers stand guard for decades on the icy graves of formidable mountains…

    Am also reminded of the song
    ‘Ae Mere Watan ke logo,
    Zaraa Aankh Mein Bhar Lo Paani
    Jo Shahid Hue Hain Unki
    Zaraa Yaad Karo Qurbaani’

    Thanks Mr.B for a grand tribute for millions of nameless men who live/die in meaningless wars of the greedy…

    • July 17, 2012 at 9:19 am

      The reality is that we the soldiers are usually outcast in the civil society. There is no recognition for the sacrifices we do. Because people would WANT a Kargil or Mumbai to happen so that we die and they can take out candle light marches on our names with all focus of media on them !
      This is ridiculous but the reality too !
      People would speak more politely to the traffic policeman because he is in direct authority to affect their daily lives…and whatever the soldiers do – they are not aware only !

  8. March 18, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Can I simply just say what a comfort to uncover somebody who really understands
    what they are discussing on the internet. You certainly know how
    to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people really need to check
    this out and understand this side of your story.
    I can’t believe you aren’t more popular given that you definitely
    have the gift.

    • March 20, 2013 at 10:01 pm

      Thank you so very much !
      Perhaps I never tried to be popular !

      Happy Blogging !

  9. Anonymous
    July 6, 2015 at 3:12 am

    That is such a beautiful poem! I am totally sharing it on my blog! I love love love it!!

    • December 19, 2015 at 11:10 am

      Thanks a lot ! Happy Blogging !

  1. August 29, 2015 at 2:06 am

leave your precious words here