Home > Poems > Prescribed Optimism

Prescribed Optimism


Addiction is a complex but treatable condition. It is characterized by compulsive drug craving, seeking and use that persist even if the user is aware of severe adverse consequences. 

Addicts are not insane or inhuman. They have taken just one bad decision in life which is too strong and too cruel to just go away.

We need to be the support and the inspiration they need. We need to get them back to “living” their life with patience, care and appreciation.

==========================================================================================

Why am I not supposed to show

the hurt that shivers up my core.

Pebbles of tears that I hold inside.

All the Godly courage lost, galore.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of those I have walked along,

fighting with prescribed optimism.

More men have fallen but unbroken.

Pledges plagued with cynicism.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The type of desires I’ve known

cripples the will to survive.

Begging illusions to fade away.

Reality recedes, demons pry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nibbling upon the lost worth.

Fumes of prayers in dread.

This drug is not going to kill me.

But leave me undead. 

 

  1. Kharma
    July 28, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I love this!

    • July 28, 2012 at 6:40 am

      then it is specially for you !!! 🙂

  2. Archana
    July 28, 2012 at 8:58 am

    good post !! … ex love is also this kind of addiction… dying and sulking for the one who left can also kill a human like how drugs do!! leaves undead !! 🙂

    • July 28, 2012 at 9:51 am

      Thank you Archana !
      Yup, love is an addiction…one thing love surely does is make you a lil bit selfish!

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  3. Christina ~
    July 28, 2012 at 11:45 am

    So true…and sad. I think a lot of people misunderstand addiction. I really like your opening and your poem is beautifully written!

    • July 28, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Thank you Christina.
      Every time you come, you drop by a smile and will to write better !!

      • July 29, 2012 at 5:10 am

        Now it’s my turn to smile! You write your heart and it shows in all of your posts…I’m so very very glad I could return the smiles and encouragement you give me when I hear/read your thoughts on my posts!!

        You are talented/gifted my friend! 🙂 I so admire how you use your gift to bring up difficult subjects and bring illumination to your readers (me). 🙂
        Hugs and Blessings! ~

      • July 29, 2012 at 9:37 am

        couldn’t have said better…couldn’t have explained better !

        Aye Aye Soldier 🙂 !

        Hope I can continue like this for a long time…

      • July 29, 2012 at 1:04 pm

        You will…I know it! 😀 !! It is my honor, sweet friend, to share The Very Inspiring Blogger Award with you for all the inspiration you’ve given me! Stop by and pick it up when you can 🙂 Blessings!!!

      • July 29, 2012 at 2:01 pm

        just on my way to pick it up with a big THANK YOU !!!
        🙂

  4. July 28, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    There is something worse than substance addiction: Being addicted to sadness or a certain person.
    Hard to break free, difficult to even comprehend that its happening!

    Nicely written Prashant!
    🙂

    • July 28, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      Thank you Archana..

      Substance addiction is what ppl see in real. But there are so many diff addictions which corrupt the mind but are not so evident from the outlook.

      For eg the addiction to become famous and wanted in these social media circle !

  5. July 29, 2012 at 1:04 am

    nice lines to explain the effects and conditions of an addict

    • July 29, 2012 at 9:36 am

      😉 by an addict…I must add

  6. July 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    i am an open book 🙂

    • July 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      coffee table or paperback
      🙂

  7. Pawan Hira
    August 3, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    We do need to understand and support them. Your posts are varying these days, carrying societal messages and foul human conditions. It saddens me to see these words of harsh truth, but you marvel in depicting them. You have a universal voice that appeals. This voice we all should heed to, and change our perceptions and act accordingly.

    • August 3, 2012 at 10:57 pm

      Thank you so much Pawan. I think you just overwhelmed me again with your humble words of appreciation.

      I just tried to know where my blog is leading me or my readers. There is a lot of emotional power in us bloggers. So, why not try and make the world a better place to think and evolve.

      • Pawan Hira
        August 3, 2012 at 11:01 pm

        I’m a wandering soul, dear. I appreciate your thoughts, and it reflects how kind you are. Keep sharing love.
        Much blessings, Prashant.

      • August 3, 2012 at 11:03 pm

        trading immortality for the one moment of true bliss, which soul has not wandered from body to body…

      • Pawan Hira
        August 3, 2012 at 11:06 pm

        Yes, absolutely. We are in this journey of togetherness. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave your precious words here